Mount Kilimanjaro

Mount Kilimanjaro is a dormant volcano in Tanzania. It has three volcanic cones: Kibo, Mawenzi and Shira. It is the highest mountain in Africa and the highest single free-standing mountain in the world: 5,895 metres (19,341 ft) above sea level and about 4,900 metres (16,100 ft) above its plateau base.


In the early twentieth century, Mount Kilimanjaro and the adjacent forests were declared a game reserve by the German colonial government. In 1921, it was designated a forest reserve. In 1973, the mountain above the tree line (about 2,700 metres (8,900 ft)) was reclassified as a national park. 


The park was declared a World Heritage Site by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization in 1987. In 2005, the park was expanded to include the entire montane forest, which had been part of the Kilimanjaro Forest Reserve

All adults of normal health and fitness should be able to make It to the top. Of critical importance is patience and determination.


There are seven established routes to climb Mount Kilimanjaro MaranguMachameLemoshoShiraRongaiNorthern Circuit and Umbwe. The MaranguMachame, and Umbwe routes all approach from the south of the mountain (Mweka is used only for descent).

Mount Kilimanjaro Trekking Routes


5 Days Marangu Route


6 Days Machame Route


7 Days Lemosho Route

rongai 4

7 Days Rongai Route

shira route

7 Days Shira Route


7 Days Umbwe Route


9 Days Northern Circuit